The fifteenth edition of the Women’s Volleyball Pan American Cup will take place in Santo Domingo from June 30 to July 11, it was announced on Saturday.

The premier annual women’s volleyball event organized by NORCECA, a qualifier to the FIVB World Grand Prix, will be played for the second time in the capital of the Dominican Republic after 10-year hiatus following the fourth edition in 2005.

The plan proposed by the Dominican Republic National Federation is to have the Ricardo Arias Pavilion, with a seating capacity of 6,000 spectators, as the main venue and the gyms of San Carlos and Mauricio Baez Clubs as alternate sites for some selected matches.

In the history of the event, Mexico has organized it a record nine times while Peru has twice presented the competition. Puerto Rico in 2006 and United States in 2009 have also played hosts to the 12-team tournament.

Current champions United States and Cuba share the lead in gold medals each with four while Dominican Republic and Brazil each has one the event three times. While Cuba won three of the first four editions of the cup, the United States have triumphed in three of the last four tournaments.

The Dominicans are at the top of the standings in overall medals with 13, followed by United States with 8 and Brazil and Cuba with 7 apiece. Argentina and Puerto Rico are next with three and two medals, respectively, and Peru and Canada each has one podium position.

The competition-regulations establish that the twelve participants will be divided into two pools of six teams which are to compete under a round-robin preliminary phase format. The winners of the pools move directly to the semifinals while the teams placed in second and third places will compete in the quarterfinals.